CF Announces 2014 Award Recipients

Contemporary Forum announced the 2014 Arlene and Morton Scult Contemporary Forum Artist Award Recipient and the 2014 Artists Grants Recipients at a special Awards Presentation held at Phoenix Art Museum on May 14th.

The 2014 Artist Award Recipient is Rachel Bess. The recipient is selected from a pool of eligible candidates whose work has demonstrated a sustained degree of excellence and who has a commitment to contemporary art over a significant period of time, who has been working as a professional artist in Arizona for at least seven years, who is presently making and exhibiting new work, and who has demonstrated significant growth in their work over their career.  Candidates are judged by the work they are currently producing and not only on the work produced in the past.

Only CF members may nominate an artist for this prestigious award. Ms. Bess received a $5000 cash award, and her work will be exhibited at Phoenix Art Museum in May 2015.  Rachel Bess will also be the featured speaker at the 2015 Awards Presentation on May 13th.

The work of Colin Chillag, 2013 Artist Award recipient, will be on display in Harnett Gallery at Phoenix Art Museum until mid June.

The 2014 Artists Grants Recipients are Kerstin Jones Dale, Bill Dambrova, Karen Hymer, Hunji Lee, Lauren Strohacker/Kendra Sollars (co-recipients), Larry Valencia Madrigal and Ben Willis.

The Artists Grants competition awards up to seven grants of $1500 each to emerging Arizona artists. The grant is intended to provide recognition and financial support for emerging professional artists focused on establishing their art career. These are artists who have recently completed degreed programs, those whose work has been shown in Arizona but not extensively outside the state, those returning to artmaking after a hiatus, or artists whose work has recently undergone a significant change of direction. Each recipient received a $1500 grant and their work will be exhibited at Phoenix Art Museum in May 2015.

The works of the 2013 Artists Grants Recipients will be on display in Lyons Gallery at Phoenix Art Museum during the Awards Presentation and throughout the month of May. The 2013 recipients were Sean Deckert, Mohammad Reza Javaheri, La Muñeca, Kim Largey, Michael McLeod, Ann Morton and David Sherman.

To date, Contemporary Forum has given $224,300 to 168 Arizona artists. These grants are made possible through the Nathan Cummings Foundation Endowment and funds from Contemporary Forum.

Congratulations to all of the 2014 Recipients!

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *